These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Issues, Workarounds & Localization

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

possible fix for Closed Socket error.

First post
Author
Grinning Dragon
Mythical Exiles
#761 - 2014-09-05 03:50:46 UTC  |  Edited by: Grinning Dragon
I started getting this issue yesterday.
Tash-Murkon several systems.

Today they are so much more frequent - Domain - Penirgram - that while I was reading a mission description I was "closed" 5 times within 30 minutes.
I took this as an [Amar Cruiser Name] and regretfully declined the mission.

Thought it would be a good time to clean up my hangar - Socket Closed happened another two times successively.

I'm also a Network Administrator and as Eyecandyten mentioned, there are a myriad of tools to detect and help troubleshoot the problem.
Hopefully it's resolved before the Alliance Tournament [puts on aluminium foil hat - there's NO conspiracy really] frustrating would be an understatement.

Anyhow, I guess it's an evening to watch the skill training blinker- socket closed - ah, can't even do that. Ugh

Update: In my super-powerful 20:20 Hindsight, I contacted my ISP and found that my network connection (to the house) needed to be reconfigured. After several hours, including a visit today by a Field Tech, our internet issues should be resolved.

I should have read this first!
Eyecandyten Yassavi
Confederate States of Eve
Kanen Industrial Guild
#762 - 2014-09-07 23:43:45 UTC
Grinning Dragon - Thanks for the link to the socket closed.

See the problem with their simple explanation, I don't buy. If it were only happening to people in a small area, they yes that would be very logical that one of the hops (routers) was having difficulty. I have several toons (as most do) and sometimes today it was only one toon that would get the socket closed. Now that really doesn't make sense!