These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE General Discussion

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Incarna/WiS Disappointment

First post First post First post
Author
CCP Bayesian
#101 - 2012-06-28 15:39:30 UTC
Azula Borgia wrote:
I really like how passionate and excited CCP Bayesian is about the work he is doing.

This is all very good to hear.

I've been making games for seven years in a variety of companies and the last few months of prototyping work have been some of the most energizing I've ever done. I really want to make this into a reality for EVE and really want to make it well.

EVE Software Engineer Team Space Glitter

Malcanis
Vanishing Point.
The Initiative.
#102 - 2012-06-28 15:44:38 UTC
VanDam wrote:
I was also taking a break when players had a 'hissy fit' following Incarna. I am glad they did and couldn't care less if WiS was never touched again, it doesn't interest me at all.

Maybe you should ask yourself this. If that many players protested over the planned game progression at the time to cause CCP to completely change an 18 month+ development strategy, what makes you think it has any place in this game?

I reckon the vast majority of people, given the outrage and negative reaction following Incarna, do not even have the WiS environment turned on. I know I don't, and it isn't because I can't run it either.

The "hissy fit" was much less over having WiS at all and much more over how little WiS we got for the opportunity cost we paid. Sending back a badly cooked steak doesn't make one a vegetarian...

"Just remember later that I warned against any change to jump ranges or fatigue. You earned whats coming."

Grath Telkin, 11.10.2016

RAP ACTION HERO
#103 - 2012-06-28 15:49:00 UTC  |  Edited by: RAP ACTION HERO