These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE General Discussion

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Login security, is a username and password enough

First post
Author
Deviana Sevidon
Jades Falcon Guards
#61 - 2012-01-11 19:24:46 UTC  |  Edited by: Deviana Sevidon
Morganta wrote:
I'm pretty sure I read that TOR players hate that system

and for the record, you have a very good chance of dieing a horrible death in a car crash every day
do you cover your car in protective equipment?

That is a bad example, most cars do indeed have a lot of protective equipment to prevent injuries or death of driver and passengers in case of a car crash.

Maxpie wrote:
Yes, I think user id/password is sufficient. I've been playing for around 6 years, have never had a problem. I guess I'd have no problem with an optional authenticator since some people are not so careful/lucky, but for me I'd prefer not to have an extra step in the process of logging on. The problem is an authenticator would start out as optional but eventually become mandatory.

Also, I'm generally against anything in Eve that protects people from their own stupidity.

Even if you did everything right to prevent your computer, you might become victim of a zero-day-exploit that has no fix yet. Computer security has a lot to do with making things harder for the bad guys, while keeping in mind that there is never absolute security.

My main account is also more then 6 years old, was never hacked and other accounts of mine, with or without authenticator, were also never compromised, but that is beside the point. I have been skilled and lucky enough to prevent damage to my accounts so far. A security token, or call it an authenticator would be still much appreciated. If the option is given, I would happily purchase one from CCP.