These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Assembly Hall

• Topic is locked indefinitely.
Previous page12

[Proposal] Free to Play : Pay to Train

First post
Author
X Gallentius
Quantum Cats Syndicate
Spaceship Bebop
#21 - 2013-10-24 21:27:34 UTC
Locutus ofBorg wrote:
Lykouleon wrote:
No.
Any elaboration or counter argument there?

Somebody has to pay for the game. More paying accounts equals healthier game with more devs, etc...
Lord Zilla Waffer
The Sovereign Forge
#22 - 2013-10-25 18:35:57 UTC
Locutus ofBorg wrote:
Hello all,

I have been playing eve for close to 8 years now and in my time I have grown to love and hate EVE at the same time. I love the free sandbox experience where you make the game your own and decide how you want to play. On the other side of that coin, I hate that I have to pay a monthly subscription for that experience.

The Problem: Many of the old guard are running out of things to train due to their character age. This is resulting in useless skills being trained so that we don't miss out on the SP, though the argument could be made that the very simple solution to this is train skills on your alt.

The Solution: Allow people to play EVE for free, but restrict the training of skills to paid "Premium" accounts which have all the benefits of the current subscriber account. These free accounts could be restricted in some ways, but that restriction would have to hold true to the EVE experience and not tie the hands of the player the way Trial accounts are restricted. Being able to trade, create contracts, and play the game how you choose should not be impacted by this free to play model, only the ability to train skills should be the defining factor here.

[Discuss!]