These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE New Citizens Q&A

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

But...I don't want to fly a Rifter

Author
Kai Sunji
Doomheim
#1 - 2012-04-21 12:26:48 UTC
I started this character with the goal of getting into faction warfare. I have zero pvp experience. Are any of the Caldari frigates and cruisers useful for pvp? I've seen a few rocket kestrel setups bandied about, would that be viable? How about a cheap ewar blackbird?
Corporate Envoy
Federal Navy Academy
Gallente Federation
#2 - 2012-04-21 13:27:00 UTC  |  Edited by: Corporate Envoy
If you can afford losing a cheap Blackbird it will be a welcome addition to any fleet. And if you like being really really annoying, ECM will be right up your alley.
Kahega Amielden
Rifterlings
#3 - 2012-04-21 15:51:29 UTC
The Rifter is far from the only good t1 frigate. Both the Kestrel and the Merlin are great
Liam Mirren
#4 - 2012-04-22 07:17:50 UTC
Both Kestrel and Merlin are great in their own right, in fact a Merlin will win against a Rifter just fine assuming comparable skills/fits. Once you move up a little there's the Harpy, while AFs are quite expensive atm that thing is all kinds of awesome bundled in a tiny package. If you move up in size there's the Blackbird in a support role, Caracal in an anti-frig role and Moa in the "go on, attack me... I'm just a dumb idiot, honest" role. After that you get the amazing Drake and I'm fairly confident the Ferox will get boosted pretty soon.

There are differences between the races ofcourse, the Minnie ships are just way faster, don't rely on cap so much, are easier to fit and have damage type selection but that doesn't mean "must fly Rifter", anyone telling you that should be ignored. Also, I have this hunch that things might be turned up side down completely in the next few months.

Fly what you want to fly.

Excellence is not a skill, it's an attitude.

Baneken