These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Skill Discussions

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Damage per hit vs Rate of fire

Author
Ju Keng-Ho
Ministry of War
Amarr Empire
#1 - 2016-08-05 14:27:13 UTC
I am a newb player and have several questions to ask. I've got a feeling that in the DPS equation for Turrets, rate of fire skills, modules, rigs et.c. contribute way more than their damage per shot equivalents. The damage per hit part has a strong RNG component and seems to be dependent on some factors that you can't fully control. While at the same time, you fully control the rate of fire of the weapons.

So the questions are:
* What are the scenarios when damage per hit is more important than the rate of fire?
* If you overheat weapons how does rate of fire vs damage per shot hold up?
* if you target paint or stacis somebody, does damage per shot value increase vs rate of fire? If yes, how much?
O'nira
Perkone
Caldari State
#2 - 2016-08-05 15:22:36 UTC
a high damage per hit can alpha(1shot for high damage or kill) through reps, rate of fire doesn't really matter all that much its damage per second(dps) you want to be looking at as well really and with a high damage per second you can slowly break through reps.

damage per shot stays the same i believe with overheat while rate of fire gets a decrease(more shots per x time) so the dps is increased. but with a rate of fire you can also "alpha" stuff with high damage per hit if you overheat a cycle the 2nd shot will land a lot faster meaning you have a higher chance of breaking through the reps.

target paint and stasis webs affect the application or how much you hit the target for, rate of fire is not affected. you can click show info on the target paints and stasis webs so see how much they do and they are affected further by skills and ship bonuses.