These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE New Citizens Q&A

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Socket CLosed??????

Author
Johhny Iron
Doomheim
#1 - 2015-04-01 13:10:30 UTC
Okay so i'm new in this game.. i play it 4-5 days.. And last 3 days i played everything fine.. no crashes and DCs.. but from yesterday night all till now.. (And still ongoing) i'm having NONSTOP Socket CLosed????????? WTF. How so can they blame our/mine ISP cause everything works fine. I got no any program that could block any IP or make socket loss..... seriously, this is my first problem ever in 10+years playing games.. WTF is this ****.. im so mad cause i can't play game i really love to play... EvilEvilEvilEvilEvilEvilEvilEvilEvilEvilEvilEvilEvilEvilEvilEvilEvilEvilEvil
L'ouris
Have Naught Subsidiaries
#2 - 2015-04-01 13:20:18 UTC
It may or may not be a comfort:

Unless CCP is under active DOS attack (which happens, and you can verify by using chribbas eveoffline website. Normally numbers are really really low ), most of the time players get the sockets closed error is ue to localized issues around you.

Just yesterday I got kicked out three times, other websites worked fine. Still, I restarted my firewalls, installed some long overdue patches on Microsoft and restarted the cable modem. Everything worked like a charm after that.

In the past, getting these errors without seeing about 800 threads on General Discussion calling CCP names and complaining that the game can't be played has been a good indicator to me to start with my stuff, then check with my ISP to see if they are having trouble upstream ( this is rare, but less rare than it being CCP's fault ).

If you still want to do some digging, they have a whole troubleshooting set of tools in the debugger pack(?) I think that even does network tests for you.
Ralph King-Griffin
Lords.Of.Midnight
The Devil's Warrior Alliance
#3 - 2015-04-01 13:54:02 UTC