These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE New Citizens Q&A

• Topic is locked indefinitely.
12Next page

Eve new player friendly? Questions. Ideas. Suggestions.

Author
Maximus Andendare
Stimulus
Rote Kapelle
#1 - 2012-11-08 08:24:45 UTC
I started playing Eve recently, and I'm curious if there's ever been any discussion to make Eve more new player friendly. The biggest problem I'm finding is that many corps look for players with 10-15 mil sp, and for a new player, that's about a year or so.

Unlike other MMOs, where I could just grind for several months to reach a competent level, skill wise, gear wise, etc., a similar path isn't available in Eve. One must literally wait it out.

Don't get me wrong, I love the fact that I can gain skills while not even being logged in. It works great for people who are busy, or students, etc., and it saves the inevitable comment of "why didn't you grind last weekend to get Skill V?"

But, there should be some mechanism to get newer players up to snuff faster. There is simply too great a divide between all the older, so-called "bittervet" players, and the new ones. I know personally that starting the game now, I feel like I'm at such a huge disadvantage simply due to my incredible lack of sp, comparatively speaking.

If there's no talk of a new-player skill system, I'd either propose 1) give new players 2x or even 3x skill point gains in the first 60-, 90- or 120- days, up to and maybe even 180 days. I'm sure many new players wouldn't mind if there was a plex cost associated with this, since technically you'd be getting more sp than offered "per month" (per plex, really).