These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Out of Pod Experience

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Dust 514 vs Planetside?

Author
Huran Kai
Kajidic
#1 - 2012-03-15 17:08:08 UTC  |  Edited by: Huran Kai
I've recently returned briefly but I love Eve, despite being a pretty average pilot, I love the atmosphere, the ever changing world and politics, and I was hoping that due to being a "pretty average" pilot (I hope you get what I really mean :p) That I'd be able to be part of the world via Dust. However it seems that it's not going to be out on PC and only on PS3 which is a shame because I have some trust issues regarding Sony.

Anyway I recently tried the original Planetside and absolutely loved it and look forward to trying Planetside 2 when it comes out (free to play as well like dust) But I was wondering is Dust 514 going to be compromised because PC gamers may just download and play planetside 2 instead, since they seem very similar.
VKhaun Vex
Viziam
Amarr Empire
#2 - 2012-03-15 17:54:59 UTC  |  Edited by: VKhaun Vex
I'm very excited to play PS2 as well, but SoE mismanages games very, very badly including the previous planet-side where they undermined their own character building and faction system by basically letting everyone have everything by grouping the skill certs and giving free respecs every day, while allowing anyone to switch sides on the same server every 5min IIRC.

They also fail hard at community work (their PS2 website doesn't even have a forum and the news items are shallow...). Right now I think they're doing a big thing with PC gamer, but they are largely unadvertised. I do not own a TV, so forgive me for saying that if they have commercials, but every time I talk to someone about PS2 for the first time, it's the first they've heard of it, and it's been planned for a loooooooonnnng time.