These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE New Citizens Q&A

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Scam?

First post
Author
at0myx Gaterau
The Scope
Gallente Federation
#1 - 2012-03-03 05:48:29 UTC
Hello, I'm new to Eve and just finished the tutorials when some random player out of the blue decides he wants to chat and then sends me 1M ISK. He says he wants me to join his lowsec pvp corp and I could use the isk to buy a good enough ship to join him immediately for pvp. If not, I could just leave and do whatever I want with the money. Is this for real? I want to believe it's a scam but it's hard to argue with free money.
Xercodo
Cruor Angelicus
#2 - 2012-03-03 05:56:04 UTC
Try going with him with something cheap like a rifter (provided you have no implants)

If you get blown up by him then just leave and you'll probably still have profited.

The Drake is a Lie

mxzf
Shovel Bros
#3 - 2012-03-03 08:24:13 UTC
If he just sent you free ISK, then that part atleast is not a scam. He might be trying to trick you into going to lowsec ... or he could just be working on recruiting. Handing out 1M ISK (nothing at all for an experienced player) and inviting newbies to blow stuff up in lowsec sounds like a pretty decent recruitment strategy. Just don't take anything that you mind losing into lowsec (this is true regardless of if someone invited you or not).
Nerath Naaris
Pink Winged Unicorns for Peace Love and Anarchy
#4 - 2012-03-03 08:51:22 UTC
mxzf wrote:
If he just sent you free ISK, then that part atleast is not a scam. He might be trying to trick you into going to lowsec ... or he could just be working on recruiting. Handing out 1M ISK (nothing at all for an experienced player) and inviting newbies to blow stuff up in lowsec sounds like a pretty decent recruitment strategy. Just don't take anything that you mind losing into lowsec (this is true regardless of if someone invited you or not).