These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE General Discussion

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

What is the current status of high-sec ganking?

Author
Oolong Turmeric
Doomheim
#121 - 2016-10-29 14:23:05 UTC
Hi

I'm new to the game so this may have been asked or done before.

Why not make a corp dedicated to destroying CODE. If this corp is at war with CODE can they attack CODE in HS with no repercussions? It seems it may be an enjoyable way to play.
ShahFluffers
Ice Fire Warriors
#122 - 2016-10-29 15:17:19 UTC
Oolong Turmeric wrote:

Why not make a corp dedicated to destroying CODE. If this corp is at war with CODE can they attack CODE in HS with no repercussions? It seems it may be an enjoyable way to play.

The problem with that idea is that Code utilizes the same mechanics that "pacifists" and "carebears" use to avoid wars.

Namely;

- dropping their corporation and affiliations in-game while still remaining organized and communicating outside of the game
- jumping from player corporation to player corporation
- staying in NPC corporations that cannot be declared war upon
- dissolving the corporation and remaking it

You can't stop this behavior without also cutting off avenues for other players who wish to avoid ship-on-ship combat.

It is pretty much the same way you cannot stop lol-ganking of ships (which a lot of people amusingly find unacceptable) without making the act so unprofitable that for-profit gankers (which people find acceptable) cannot ply their trade.
Galaxy Duck
Galaxy Farm Carebear Repurposing
#123 - 2016-10-29 18:11:29 UTC
Shae Tadaruwa wrote:

Who said it was illegal to kill ships. Turn your ******** level down. Killing ships is the best part about the game and I never claimed anything different.

"They are actually required to have that as a motivation by CCP."