These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE General Discussion

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Engaging in a fight

Author
John Wangs
Republic University
Minmatar Republic
#1 - 2016-10-04 21:20:35 UTC
Hello, I am pretty new to Eve. So far I've mostly been doing PVE. Last couple of days though, Iˇve been having PVP duels with my friend. He bought me a T1 frigate and we duel into hull and its loads of fun. The thing is, though, that it takes me ages to start shooting at him, lock him, web him etc. While he is really fast at it. Before I manage to shoot and web Im already in 50% shields.

How do you guys lock and apply DPS, webs etc at the enemy as soon as possible? I know there are shortcuts for modules, should I use some shortcuts? I use selected item to lock him up and orbit and I activate the modules with my mouse. Sometimes I panic and even forget to web lol
Elenahina
The Scope
Gallente Federation
#2 - 2016-10-04 21:40:59 UTC
John Wangs wrote:
Hello, I am pretty new to Eve. So far I've mostly been doing PVE. Last couple of days though, Iˇve been having PVP duels with my friend. He bought me a T1 frigate and we duel into hull and its loads of fun. The thing is, though, that it takes me ages to start shooting at him, lock him, web him etc. While he is really fast at it. Before I manage to shoot and web Im already in 50% shields.

How do you guys lock and apply DPS, webs etc at the enemy as soon as possible? I know there are shortcuts for modules, should I use some shortcuts? I use selected item to lock him up and orbit and I activate the modules with my mouse. Sometimes I panic and even forget to web lol

If you look at your hud, the top row of modules are all mapped to your F-keys (F1 - F8) by default.

Put the most commonly used modules in that row and you can hit them very quickly after targeting.

CTRL+click will target whatever you click.

Try that until it's natural.