These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Player Features and Ideas Discussion

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Curious about future updates involving gatecamps

First post
Author
Annemarie Menis
Imperial Academy
Amarr Empire
#1 - 2015-05-06 01:54:10 UTC
Hi,

I'm somewhat new to pvp. My partner and I have been trying lowsec roams to try and get into it. However, we've encountered some gatecamps in our travels and it seems that they're very hard or impossible to defend against or avoid while flying a standard combat ship.

I'm just curious to know how the community at large feels about gate camps, such as how fun they are for either party (relevant? no?) or how much interesting and engaging gameplay they add to EVE. In addition, I'm curious as to whether CCP plans to remove or modify gatecamps so that there's more interactive gameplay involved.

Keep in mind I'm not looking for ship fits, tips, or help avoiding/defending against gatecamps.
Omnathious Deninard
University of Caille
Gallente Federation
#2 - 2015-05-06 02:31:21 UTC
Annemarie Menis wrote:

Keep in mind I'm not looking for ship fits, tips, or help avoiding/defending against gatecamps.

Then you will be met with a resounding NO from pretty much everyone on this idea. Gatecamps are here to stay like it or not, the fact that you are here signifies that they have created interesting gameplay for you and rather than figure out how to handle them or ask for help on handling them you question if they should exist.

If you don't follow the rules, neither will I.

Annemarie Menis
Imperial Academy
Amarr Empire
#3 - 2015-05-06 02:34:35 UTC  |  Edited by: Annemarie Menis
Omnathious Deninard wrote:
Annemarie Menis wrote: