These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE New Citizens Q&A

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Internet Data Usage Question

First post
Author
Tim Ashworth
School of Applied Knowledge
Caldari State
#1 - 2015-04-23 05:25:01 UTC
Hi i just started playing tonight and i was wondering how much data the game uses while im playing... i have a data cap on my internet so i dont want to end up using too much and paying for it... anyone know how much data per hour EVE usually eats up?

Thanks
Chainsaw Plankton
FaDoyToy
#2 - 2015-04-23 05:37:13 UTC
almost nothing Lol

press ctrl+shift+alt+m (i think?) to bring up the monitor in game and it tells you all sorts of things. mostly just have to watch out for patches. a lot of the network code was written for 10+ years ago.

@ChainsawPlankto on twitter

Elena Thiesant
The Scope
Gallente Federation
#3 - 2015-04-23 06:36:59 UTC
Very, very little.

I play EVE 3-4 hours most days from a connection that has a 2GB/month cap and I don't come close to hitting it if I'm just playing EVE (the major releases have to be installed from somewhere else though)
Xylem Viliana
homeless bum
#4 - 2015-04-23 09:58:37 UTC
Long ago I asked this question to CCP

The answer was basically "not much but impossible to estimate" this is due to the tie between what you do ingame and the usage, the mosr you do etc the higher the use however EvE is not heavy use at all, even if you are online 23.5 hours a day in fleet battles.
Tim Ashworth
Caldari State
#5 - 2015-04-23 12:20:47 UTC
Thanks for the help guys. I downloaded it at my girlfriends house so i wouldnt use my data... ill just do that for updates and i should be good to go.

thanks again
Steve Ronuken
Fuzzwork Enterprises
Vote Steve Ronuken for CSM
#6 - 2015-04-23 12:56:11 UTC
Tim Ashworth wrote: