These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Market Discussions

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

The dynamic Eve Online market

Author
A-Fukuzawa
Doomheim
#1 - 2011-12-22 21:10:15 UTC
I never have been much for video games, and count count the number of games i played for more than a month on one hand, but Eve Online is the one exception. I love this game, i have been playing on and off for almost 5 years, it surprises me that any game can hold my attention for so long. The aspect of the game that keeps me logging in more than any other is the market. like i said, i play very few games, so i have very little knowledge about others, but is it safe to say that the Eve market is the most dynamic? is there no other in game market that compare?

I just wanted to make this post because i want to know more about it. what little known, or surprising facts do you guys know about the eve economy?

The one thing that comes to my mind is the fact that CCP hired a team of economists to monitor it.

please leave your 2 cents
Ghoest
#2 - 2011-12-22 23:03:16 UTC
Generally the most dynamic economies in MMOs are in games where the economy is a secondary concern of the devs.

EVE has the deepest and most robust economy of any MMO.

Wherever You Went - Here You Are

Vaerah Vahrokha
Vahrokh Consulting
#3 - 2011-12-23 00:30:51 UTC  |  Edited by: Vaerah Vahrokha
EvE has a really nice implementation of a demand => supply chain, it marries very well with the sandbox model.

Having been given such an open sandbox, we are basically free to be "real", therefore you see a quasi-realistic market, including real demand vs supply, artificial demand vs supply, small and big market players.

The more you do not play EvE, the more you like it (seeing the other games being so much worse).
corestwo
Goonfleet Investment Banking
#4 - 2011-12-23 05:45:22 UTC
A-Fukuzawa wrote: