These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Player Features and Ideas Discussion

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Column for Ship Class on Overlay Settings

Author
Pax Vherokior
Republic University
Minmatar Republic
#1 - 2011-12-19 17:52:23 UTC
Is it necessary to make rookies new to the game to memorize every single ship to know what they're able to engage and run away from, CCP? When I am in my little Rifter I know I can fight other little frigates but not big ships that blow me up in one hit.

Yes, the size of the square in the icon column should tell you the general ship size, but it doesn't tell you the class. T2 frigates, T3 BCs, etc. Lots of variation even within the same size.

I can't tell the difference between a Rifter and a Tornado because I am a bad pilot and a bad poster, but it'd be nice to make the game a little friendly in terms of obvious design.
Max Kolonko
Caldari Provisions
Caldari State
#2 - 2011-12-20 01:02:13 UTC  |  Edited by: Max Kolonko
Pax Vherokior wrote:
Is it necessary to make rookies new to the game to memorize every single ship to know what they're able to engage and run away from, CCP? When I am in my little Rifter I know I can fight other little frigates but not big ships that blow me up in one hit.

Yes, the size of the square in the icon column should tell you the general ship size, but it doesn't tell you the class. T2 frigates, T3 BCs, etc. Lots of variation even within the same size.

I can't tell the difference between a Rifter and a Tornado because I am a bad pilot and a bad poster, but it'd be nice to make the game a little friendly in terms of obvious design.

Agreed, just add shipclass to overview - for t1 it will be all Frigate, Crusier, etc...
For T2/3 it will be Assault Frigate, Command Ship, Strategic Cruiser, etc...

I see no point going into tiers as OP sugested with BC's (altough tier3 BC's are a class of their own :P)