These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE New Citizens Q&A

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Cooperation?

Author
Maynard Sokarad
Sebiestor Tribe
Minmatar Republic
#1 - 2015-01-26 20:25:52 UTC
I have been playing for 3 or 4 months, I have reached 4mil SP and 1bil on my wallet, both being small milestones that attest i'm a semi competent beginner.

This really is a good game. It is hardcore (although probably not as hard as it used to be) and it's complex enough that the only people that bother playing are quite an interesting bunch. There is also a lot of active player which is, quite frankly, the stat that makes or breaks a MMO. I have discovered dozens of different full time activities and although i have not discovered anything new in quite some time I wouldn't be surprised if I still had no knowledge of huge parts of the game.

There is, however, something that is really missing in Eve. It's what I would call pick up cooperation. There is nearly no way to interract with a stranger except maybe for shooting him down (or more likelly in my case, getting gunned down). There is no mechanic in place to help player cooperate for small objectives. For example the loot system make it nearly impossible to do a pick up fleet with stranger and say, run an anom or a mission. On the other hand, like most MMO Eve is balanced for multiplayers, making multiboxing a practical necessity.
Matter of factly, 4 months into the gamee and the only time I got to play with someone else (except for the numerous time I got killed) was when a corpmate invented something for me to do : scout this or that, usually. Something they could have done faster but knew that i'd enjoy doing.