These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Player Features and Ideas Discussion

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

[Hyperion] Nestor Tweaks

First post First post First post
Author
James Baboli
Warp to Pharmacy
#221 - 2014-08-13 12:33:50 UTC
Tij Lamor wrote:
I've been intrigued by the Nestor since I started playing Eve - the flexibility to adapt to different roles appeals to me. I've created generalist characters that dabble in many areas of the New Eden sandbox, why not a generalist ship?

One problem has been price. For less than the cost of a Nestor I can buy an Onerios for logistics, a Stratios for exploration and a Rattlesnake for combat - each much better in its specialized role than the Nestor.

The idea of adding a ship maintenance bay, presumably with fleet fitting service, got me thinking about the ship again. The ability to refit on the fly has been available since the mobile depot was introduced but built in and fleet accessible adds considerable value. The perfect spot for a ship with these capabilities is wormhole space but a lot of wormholes have a 20 million kg mass restriction and it would be nice if we could shrink Nestor to that level – call it a “Pocket” Battleship. I’d be willing to give up half the drone bay, some cargo space, a high slot and some tank to achieve this. To compensate, a lighter ship should be better able to speed tank.

I see the ship being fit for one role at a time with primary roles being:
* fleet support – logistics including a full squadron of heavy logistic drones, fleet fitting service and I would really like to see a command link.
* sniper – sentry drones and range bonus for lasers – should be a good choice for level 4 missions.
* wormhole exploration – role bonuses for scanning and hacking. Can fit a conventional cloak.