These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE General Discussion

• Topic is locked indefinitely.
12Next page

Discussion: Adding Variance to 0.0 and Sovereignty

Author
Kalorian
Red XIII Indy Flight School
#1 - 2014-06-16 22:15:31 UTC
I have been playing EVE Online since 2005. I have witnessed the game change through my playing over the years and in many ways the changes have been great. In other ways some content of the game has decreased in popularity. The biggest of which in my opinion is Sovereignty. I am sure there have been tons of discussions and previous posts about this topic but I wanted to relay some thoughts I have had in regards to this topic over the years.

Moons

Moon Minerals tend to be a focal point. When wars are raged the most valuable moons are targeted to turn off the ISK machine that these moons can be. While this is a legitimate strategy it appears more and more that there is a monopoly on moons. The ownership of these assets are carved out in back rooms of these Coalitions of Alliances. How can one challenge the power of certain entities to get access to these resources?

Variability. Moon minerals should not be locked to their seed and they should have a life span. The mechanics already exist for this (to a lesser extent) with exploration (anomalies spawn and respawn) and planetary interaction (quantities vary). If Moon minerals were exhausted and had a range from say 1 month to 4 months this would add change and mobility to low sec and 0.0 landscape.

At certain points Dysprosium moons may have a higher spawn rate in a different region and that would shift wars for control over these assets. Perhaps in rare cases a moon could be spawned with 2 or 3 rarity minerals which could net more than average Dysprosium moon.