These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Player Features and Ideas Discussion

• Topic is locked indefinitely.
Previous page12

[Counter Future Release] Glimpse Probes

Author
Celestarias
Brutor Tribe
Minmatar Republic
#21 - 2014-05-08 18:29:08 UTC
HTC NecoSino wrote:
Quote:
1aa. YES: This is occupied!
1ab. NO: This is probably yet another abandoned system. Consider rolling it immediately.
1b. NO: This is probably empty. Contemplate rolling it if they don't have a decent number of holes for moving around.

We want this probe and historical data because, due to the sheer nature of WH space, very few entities have pilots online through all time-zones. If I am a US pilot and I find a system with towers, and those towers belong to an AU/RU corp, or even 50% of EU corps, guess what? It may as well be empty to me.

Or it could simply be a weekender farming corp that only has a handful of pilots log in for a few hours each week. Again, might as well be empty.

The glimpse probe would allow us to quickly gather a rough idea regarding the times when there are active pilots in this system.

This is why you're looking for forcefields, not for Towers alone.

People don't live in towers without forcefields. If there's a forcefield, it's being fueled, which means someone lives there.

Stalk your prey from there out. Why /must/ you know historical data about NPC kills? Scout your targets like everyone else who wants a juicy kill.
HTC NecoSino
Suddenly Carebears
#22 - 2014-05-08 19:12:23 UTC
Celestarias wrote:
This is why you're looking for forcefields, not for Towers alone. People don't live in towers without forcefields. If there's a forcefield, it's being fueled, which means someone lives there.

Stalk your prey from there out. Why /must/ you know historical data about NPC kills? Scout your targets like everyone else who wants a juicy kill.