These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Ships & Modules

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Training roadmap from PvP noob to Pilgrim pilot

Author
Ryouma Kautsuo
#1 - 2014-05-06 18:26:24 UTC
After having spent a couple months mining and missioning, I decided it was time for a change of pace. Having no idea whatsoever about what I wanted to do, I downloaded the latest static data export and crafted a SQL query to spit out a random ship for me to aim towards. After a couple of unusable hits (unobtainable NPC faction ships, carriers that I don't stand any reasonable chance of skilling into), the query spit out a Pilgrim.

I've looked the ship over, and it seems like it could be really fun to fly. However, I don't think I should just train the skills for it and take it on a PvP roam. Given that this is a T2 cruiser and I plan to use it for PvP (something I have very little experience in), I think I should start out with a less expensive ship until I feel comfortable enough to fly it.

I'm looking at a few options for ship progression:

1. Crucifier -> Sentinel -> Arbitrator -> Pilgrim
This option seems like the most thorough route, but I worry that I might be wasting a lot of time skilling into the Sentinel when I mainly intend to use it as a stepping stone.

2. Arbitrator -> Pilgrim
This option has the advantage of bypassing frigates and therefor allowing me to get the complete hang of cruiser combat right from the start. The downside is that cruisers are much more expensive to replace than frigates and the costs of my early mistakes will probably add up pretty quickly.

3. Crucifier -> Arbitrator -> Pilgrim