These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Warfare & Tactics

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Questions about faction warfare

Author
Vrayne Mangeiri
Doomheim
#1 - 2014-04-30 00:04:00 UTC
Hi I am fairly new to eve. I am looking at faction warfare as a possible career. I am looking at joining the minmatar in the fight.
but I have a couple questions.

1. I heard you lose standings and can get locked out of safe space forever, is that true?
2. Is it noob friendly.
3. Can I make enough money to support losing ships.
4. Is it active enough to warrant the costs of being in it.

thank you
Loraine Gess
Confedeferate Union of Tax Legalists
#2 - 2014-04-30 00:18:51 UTC
1) You can get chased out of space, but not forever (just as much will as you have to regrind standings)

2) It's as difficult as you make it

3) Easily

4) How do you value your time?...
Charlie Firpol
Brutor Tribe
Minmatar Republic
#3 - 2014-04-30 00:33:27 UTC
Vrayne Mangeiri wrote:
Hi I am fairly new to eve. I am looking at faction warfare as a possible career. I am looking at joining the minmatar in the fight.

1. I heard you lose standings and can get locked out of safe space forever, is that true?
2. Is it noob friendly.

thank you

You will lose standing towards your enemy factional warfare NPC corp, which you can pretty much ignore.

You will lose sec standing only when you shoot neutrals in lowsec. You are in a permanent wardec against the enemy militia so shooting them does not reduce your sec status. Neither does shooting red flashy pirates.

You will get hunted by enemy militia NPCs in your enemies factions highsec as long as you are in factional warfare. They are not even comparable to concord, even though they spawn just like them. You can outrun them in a fast ship.