These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE New Citizens Q&A

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

[Question] When to deploy different drones

Author
Minimus Livingston
The Scope
Gallente Federation
#1 - 2014-03-15 20:21:24 UTC
Hello fellow pilots,

I am a Gallente pilot and just finished training into Warden II's and Garde II's.
I want to do level 4 missions with my Dominix and want to know when to deploy certain drones.

The drones I have at my disposal are:
Ogre II
Hammerhead II
Hobgoblin II
Garde II
Warden II

Could you tell me when to deploy what drones? It's a bit confusing to me.

Yours sincerely,

Minimus Livingston.
Genseric Tollaris
Hard Cog Industry
#2 - 2014-03-15 21:18:58 UTC
Each races drones does a different damage type, for gallente its thermal, caldari is kinetic, amarr is em and minmatar is explosive. Generally for pvp most people stick with the gallente drones as they hit hardest or minmatar because exlosive damage and warriors are the fastest. For pve I think its usually wise to choose drones that deal damage the rats you're facing are vulnurable to. To find what damage types they are just google the mission. Having said that your drone choice looks fine, you have all the gallente drones except wardens which are caldari.

Typically with a mission domi you would use sentries and stay at range to mitigate some of the incoming damage and so your sentries can easily hit the rats as they fly straight at you. But theres many ways to use a ship. Gardes are your short range higher damage sentries with good tracking. Wardens are long range with poor tracking. So gardes when you're closer, wardens when your far away. Use the attributes tab on the show info pane to find out ship/module stats.