These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Missions & Complexes

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Progression to Level 4

Author
Jasmin Ahrire
Doomheim
#1 - 2014-03-12 09:36:00 UTC
Hi there!

To make a long story short, my current goal is progressing into level 4 missions. I am new to the game and have almost no skills trained so I am in essence a completely blank slate!

My question relates to which race's ships I should specialize in for now with mission running as a goal?

Level 1 missions needs a frigate and a destroyer?
Level 2 needs Cruisers?
Level 3 needs Battlecruisers and
Level 4 needs Battleships?

Am I correct in assuming the above? If yes what race should I go for? What ships should I fly in the respective ship classes?

Thank you in advance :)
Jill Antaris
Jill's Open Incursion Corp
#2 - 2014-03-12 09:46:53 UTC
Race doesn't matter that much, Caldari and Gallente are preferred by many because the relative easy to fit and effective drone and missile ships. Amarr is probably the race where you have to invest the most SP in cap, gunnery, tanking and navigation skills to run comfortable but they are very quick and efficent in the long run(if you are mostly run in amarr space). Minmatar are easier on the fitting and cap but also a bit more limited because autocannons lack the range on T1 hulls, artillery has a hard time tracking cruisers and frigs at close range. The mobile Swiss army knife style hulls like the tempest or typhoon are very skill intensive to run them well(split weapon systems or low dps that require high navigation, BS5 and gunnery skills get up to speed).
Jasmin Ahrire
Doomheim
#3 - 2014-03-12 09:52:37 UTC
Thank you Jill, you touched on something that I should have mentioned! Ideally it would be ships that would be the fastest to train, and yet still be good at running missions.