These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Market Discussions

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Market data question

Author
Charles Benedict
State War Academy
Caldari State
#1 - 2013-10-02 17:07:28 UTC
Ive played a bit of eve a few years back but nothing fancy. I just started playing again and was trying to learn everything i can about the market.

Something odd striked me and perhaps someone can clarify the situation.
I was checking Price History for allot of items and was amazed and how many items were sold per day.

Lets take titanium for an example. I think it said something like 590000 + sold a day before.
Then i took a look at the market data tab and was checking the cheapest seller for titanium in Jita.
He had a quantity of (example) 39999 for sale.

I was checking the market data tab to see how many he would sell in about an hour as i was just curious.
2 hours gone by, he was still the cheapest seller and he sold absolutely nothing.

I then checked allot of other items which were sold ALLOT per day. And checked the market data tab for the cheapest sellers in jita. To my suprise hours and hours later all the people i kept tabs on did not sell a single piece.

For something that has over 150000 (or more) sells a day. You would think by checking the cheapest sellers you would see there quantity count go down allot over the course of 6 hours.

Whats going on? Am i missing something simple here?
Hammer Crendraven
Center for Advanced Studies
Gallente Federation
#2 - 2013-10-02 20:49:28 UTC
I believe the history chart is for the entire region not just a single station like Jita. So the entire forge region is what you are looking at in the history chart.
TheSmokingHertog
Julia's Interstellar Trade Emperium
#3 - 2013-10-02 23:29:36 UTC
Did you monitor buy orders? If I sell to a buy order, my sale is incorporated in the total amount of sold goods.