These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Missions & Complexes

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

To start a mission running alt

Author
Leo Sagan
The Scope
Gallente Federation
#1 - 2013-09-28 08:41:17 UTC
Hey guys,

I'm considering starting a mission running alt and I definitely need advices.

My wishes / goal :

1) To be able to run level 4s comfortably (I prefer killing everything, no blitzing)

2) I don't want to use drones anymore, or at least not heavily : my main is Gallente and I want to try a different playstyle.

3) In the end, I want an efficient setup, reasonably safe and easy to learn

4) Not sure it's important but later I'd like to try incursions and I hear that a shield setup is more popular to find a fleet. Should I take that into account so early in my alt career ?

What would you suggest, knowing that I'm a semi newbie ? Is there an online step by step guide you would recommend ? I found many ressources on the web but I'm not really able to pick the good ones so it doesn't help.

Thanks in advance
Marc Callan
Center for Advanced Studies
Gallente Federation
#2 - 2013-09-28 09:52:54 UTC
Probably Caldari or Minmatar might be good for you, given your parameters. Amarr mission runners are generally either laser-based or drone-based; you've said you want to get away from drones, and lasers are quite weak against several types of rats (notably Guristas and Angels).