These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE New Citizens Q&A

• Topic is locked indefinitely.
12Next page

How difficult are NPC anomalies to solo + question about backfiring literally

Author
Mortis Graves
Doomheim
#1 - 2013-08-13 17:13:08 UTC
Hello Everyone! I'm new to EVE and I really like it so far Smile

Now, to the point. I have recently bought my first offensive ship - a Hurricane, and I thought that when I'll try it out on some belt rats, I'll shoot them once and within a second and they'll pop like a soap bubble... but that wasn't exactly the case.

To give you some detail, I've fitted it with 4x 650mm Artillery Cannons I and 2x Heavy Beam Lasers. Used some EMP ammo + Ultraviolet crystals and I couldn't believe to see how I didn't hit them once. Right now, after some trial and error, I've got some smaller 220mm Vulcan Autocannons I and a Pulse Laser and in general... it works - I can snipe them with the heavy beam and as they get closer - fire the cannons and the pulse laser.

However, and here goes question 1 - will I always have to fly away from them to get some accuracy? Whether I sit in the same spot or move towards them or orbit around them - I still have a lot of issues hitting them, but when I fire my afterburner and move away from them, then they really do pop like soap bubbles Blink Is that it? If I improve my skills, will I ever achieve a point where I can successfully have a rat orbiting me and I'll just conveniently shoot them without moving? Just to clarify - I'm talking about the Angel Cartel rats in high-sec so they're very weak, but also fast and they'll just orbit around you by default. Is moving away from the target and backfiring actually a strategy or do I need better gear, different weapons?