These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE New Citizens Q&A

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Noob explorer seeking advices

Author
Leo Sagan
The Scope
Gallente Federation
#1 - 2013-07-11 22:06:18 UTC  |  Edited by: Leo Sagan
Hi everyone !

First, my apologies for my English : this is not my 1st language.

I'm fairly new to EVE and I'm looking for advices. My toon is a young explorer (425 000 sp) flying an Imicus in low-sec. I created a 2nd toon (trial account) to scout ahead and so far, I didn't get caught. I'm not sure if it's because I'm doing things right (let's hope so) or by pure luck. I'd like to explain how I work and to read your advices to improve. I use two computers and two accounts.

1) Scout ahead, make my bookmarks
With my scout, I'll go visit a bunch of low-sec systems linked together. In every system, I'll put a "Safe Spot" bookmark (warp to a celestial, put a bookmark while warping, return to the bookmark, delete the bookmark, warp to another celestial, drop the real bookmark) + a "Safe Gate" bookmark at every useful gate (warp at 100km from the gate, go away until I'm at 150km+, put a bookmark).

After this work is done, I'll return to give a copy of my bookmarks to my main.

2) Exploration
The scout goes to the 1st low sec system, warps to the safe spot and makes sure everything is OK. My main joins him (he enters the system then warps to the safe spot). Then he scans the system, trying to find Data and Relic sites (I'm too young to use the other ones). During this scanning job, I use the D-Scan set to 360¨ and to the maximum range, in order to spot combat probes or any funny stuff. I also have the local chat open to be sure I can see who is entering / leaving the system.