These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE Technology Lab

• Topic is locked indefinitely.
12Next page

Learning to use the EvE API...

Author
Teasel
Serenity Logistics Corporation
#1 - 2013-04-19 09:23:58 UTC
I have been going through Trenker's very helpful API tutorials on his site (great work btw Smile ). I can pull information from the dump and display it but as i'm a bit of a noob to all this, i was wondering if there's any info out there about displaying the related icons to the database items in a page (i.e. having the picture of a deimos appear next to the ship data). I have looked for the info and googled it endlessly and am getting fed up (and a little demoralized tbh) with hitting dead ends and seemingly irrelevant info (like i said, i am a bit of a noob to this so the info may be useful but i can't 'see the wood for the trees' at the moment). Any pointers, code snippets or links would be most helpful and really appreciated.

Many thanks in advance :)
KnifeOrSpoon
Contraposition Industries Inc
#2 - 2013-04-19 10:09:03 UTC
I'm unsure if you are using PHP and MySQL so the example I am going to give assumes you are doing so....

The minimum SQL data you will require is the typeID column, and referencing the Eve-ID API Reference page there is this link for calling images

http://imagetest.eveonline.com/Render/29990_512.png

Just substitute the 29990 with the typeID you have retrieved from the database.
Teasel
#3 - 2013-04-19 10:15:14 UTC
yp, i'm using php and mysql. Thanks for the example Smile, i'm looking more for how to code that into the output. I can retrieve the data using sql query in php, but how to code in displaying the image?
Teasel
#4 - 2013-04-19 12:48:02 UTC
...anyone? Straight
Steve Ronuken
Fuzzwork Enterprises
Vote Steve Ronuken for CSM
#5 - 2013-04-19 13:44:16 UTC  |  Edited by: Steve Ronuken