These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Intergalactic Summit

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

The Minmatar's great Debt to the Amarr Empire

First post
Author
Stitcher
School of Applied Knowledge
Caldari State
#121 - 2013-02-17 06:22:48 UTC  |  Edited by: Stitcher
Simon Louvaki wrote:
I’ve already stated why it's bad...

In fact you have not. What you said was:

Simon Louvaki wrote:
The absence of God’s presence is something unbearably terrifying to the faithful.

This is not an explanation of why it's bad, merely an assertion that it is. Your reasoning appears to be "it's bad because it's bad", which is perfectly circular.

You then move on to claiming exclusivity of knowledge with "you're not a believer, it's difficult if not impossible for you to understand, you clearly have no desire to".

Well... okay, guilty as charged, I have no desire to experience that kind of fear for myself.

But the reason I do not fear what you do is that as far as I'm concerned it makes no sense to be afraid of missing out on something you have no proof is even attainable, especially not to that degree. There's not a shred of good, blast-proof, well-founded evidence to suggest that the heaven you're aspiring to is anything other than a fantasy. Which means that this naked terror of the idea of missing out on it is absurd and neurotic. It would sound insecure and twitchy even if you were talking about something that's known to be possible.

I'm deadly serious about that; let me illustrate how desperate you sound right now by replacing the word "God" with the word "pizza".

Quote: