These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE General Discussion

• Topic is locked indefinitely.
123Next pageLast page

CCP: New players should have guidance

Author
Rambunctious
Aliastra
Gallente Federation
#1 - 2013-01-24 18:47:32 UTC  |  Edited by: Rambunctious
Hello all.

As a player who has tried and tried and failed to get into this game, I finally came to the realization of what went wrong. In most games soloing is OK. I understand that it is in this game as well, but the learning curve is just too great. I first came into this game and got into missions after lots of reading on how to do it. That went well because, well, it's pretty simple (atleast to get to level 4's, i'm still a noob so I might be wrong.) I never got into a mission alliance and it got boring. I tried pvping, got podded many times and never figured out what went wrong(LOL flying to lowsec looking for an even fight, i'm an idiot.). Even after reading tons of things about pvp I could not figure the mechanics and left for a year.

I came back, got into a nullsec alliance and flew out. I found someone friendly who taught me some things, but was always in fleets warping off with battleships and logistics. I was underskilled for flying anything decent, got bored ratting in null and I joined RvB right before I left again. I was frustrated with the game and didn't care about the game anymore. Another year later I came back to RvB. I decided I don't care about missions, rats or nullsec. I just want to figure out the mechanics of pvp in this game. I jumped in a tier 1 frigate and off I zoomed with the fleet. I was getting blown up quite a bit but I still wasn't figuring it out and was getting frustrated again.