These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Science & Industry

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Moon mining noob: Choosing moons

Author
Substantia Nigra
Polaris Rising
Goonswarm Federation
#1 - 2012-11-21 17:43:45 UTC
I'm an absolute noob wrt moon mining ... having just deployed my first gaze probe equipped prowler.

Given that my alliance / coalition controls all the tech moons for a long ways around, I am wondering whether there's any joy in trying to mine some of the non-Tech ones. Is it oversimplistic to see the basic moon goo price as being the main indictor of value ... ofc coupled with being able to find suitable moons?

So far it looks like I have a fair few platinum, and several dysprosium moons easily accessible. Are they the way to go, or should I be looking elsewhere?

I guess I am almost a 'vet' by now. Hopefully not too bitter and managing to help more than I hinder. I build and sell many things, including large collections of bookmarks.

Bugsy VanHalen
Society of lost Souls
#2 - 2012-11-21 18:09:22 UTC  |  Edited by: Bugsy VanHalen
well if your alliance is hauling the tech to Jita to sell, see if you can buy some off them locally. It will save them some hauling.

Then set up your moon mining on a moon with platinum, and react it with the tech you import to make PT technite. You could make billions per month off this reaction. Especially if your alliance is willing to sell you some of the tech they are pulling.
Substantia Nigra
Polaris Rising
Goonswarm Federation
#3 - 2012-11-21 20:47:27 UTC
Thanks very much.

Yes, I did notice that reaction in the guides I’ve been browsing through, and it did influence my thoughts that Platinum might be a good goo for me to mine … along with the half-dozen unoccupied platinum moons I’ve found so far.