These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE New Citizens Q&A

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Factions - questions

First post
Author
Yulke Tellean
Doomheim
#1 - 2012-11-20 19:26:16 UTC  |  Edited by: Yulke Tellean
Hi.
I'm new to Eve and I have questions about factions:

1) Which faction has most / least players?
2) Is there is difference in the community among the factions? (XY has more roleplayers, YZ has more hardcore players, ...)
3) How do they compare in PVP / PVE?

Thanks.
Esna Pitoojee
Societas Imperialis Sceptri Coronaeque
Khimi Harar
#2 - 2012-11-20 19:43:26 UTC
Since any race/faction character can use any other races' ships and share a corp with other race characters, once you leave the initial starting corp and tutorials there is little distinction between which race/faction you start as.

In terms of RPers - while a great deal of RP seems to be happening 'behind the scenes' and thus it's hard for me to tell, Caldari seems to be the most represented among what remains of the RP community. Minmatar and Amarr are second and third right now, with Gallente rounding off the group.
Merouk Baas
#3 - 2012-11-20 19:44:18 UTC
Most people ignore factions and instead metagame within their own corps or alliances (i.e. it's about kills, owning others, keeping space, and making ISK rather than about roleplaying space elves).

But:

1. Caldari are popular because their ship lineups are easy to get into and do missions, for newbies. Shields and missiles are a bit more forgiving than having to get up close with some sort of guns and an actual tank that can withstand damage.