These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Science & Industry

• Topic is locked indefinitely.
12Next page

Solo Mining Worth It?

Author
Renis Vaille
Center for Advanced Studies
Gallente Federation
#1 - 2012-11-12 15:52:12 UTC
All,

I'm very new to EVE (my first and only characters is less than a week old) and I am almost done the tutorial missions. I enjoyed mining and want to know if solo mining is at all lucrative for someone who plans on playing 10-15 hours per week. Also, a question about low/null sec vs. highsec, I realize that low/null sec is the eventual goal for all miners, as this is where the rare and valuable ores are located. However, will I still be able to make relatively good isk by starting out in highsec mining veldspar and other very common ores? I want to start out in highsec to gain the capital needed to invest in better ships/equipment to venture into null/low sec.

Thanks.
Fougerius
EX-APE
#2 - 2012-11-12 16:40:27 UTC
Hi,

I'll be honest, when you start playing EVE mining feels like the easiest away of making ISK. This isn't true, mining solo and in corp is getting bored after a few days, few hours. After that you will think about the mining barges.... It's new you'll love it, the amount you of ore you get is amazing! Then you realize that it's not that great.

In a mackinaw, you will get bored in a 0.5 you will find ores with around 4-5 cycle in strip II with T2 crystals. 5 cycle is 15 minutes... without anything to do... Well you better have something else to do and not be tired...

To be honest I think mining is a good start if you want to be manufacturing. It will give you the starting ores when your wallet doesn't and the risk isn't bad. But I would recommand to not go too far into that profession (even if my time in eve is most of the time use to mine).