These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Player Features and Ideas Discussion

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

ECM mechanics - How it works in real life

Author
Gecko Shardani
Viziam
Amarr Empire
#1 - 2012-11-10 08:10:44 UTC
Good morning,

I'd like first to say that this is not a "ECM is broken" or a new complaint about "why am I perma-jammed?" post.
I just wish to understand the mechanics of how ECM modules would work in a real environment, and maybe raise some ideas.

---

That being said, let me give you a situation:

I am a fleet inty pilot. We gather a small gang, I start skirmishing and find 2-3 juicy targets at a belt. I start spiralling, point a ship and call in reinforcements. Then, after a few seconds, my friend come on field and call a second point. Nice! I can focus on another target!

A Falcon lands on the field, 100+ km off the fleet, and starts jamming the hell out of our other tacklers... "I'm burning towards the Falcon" - "POINT!" - "Point lost... I'm jammed... oh, and again... and again...".

Of course, at that point, what I'm doing is orbiting the Falcon, opening the forums, reading the newspaper, watching what's on TV... I'm totally useless.

Don't give up yet! As I stated, this is NOT a complaint about being perma-jammed!

---

Let's imagine how it would work in real life:

An "antenna" (or whatever you call it) sends waves of ECM towards a target, which confuses the targeting computer which prevents it to work correctly. In my mind, there are only 3 possibilities of how the waves are emitted:

1. The "antenna" send ECM waves all around the ship on which it is mounted.
2. The ECM waves are emitted in a cone in a specific direction.
3. The "antenna" has to follow the target to send focused waves of ECM.

The first asumption would break the targeting computers of every ship around the emitter, so that doesn't seem to be how it works in reality.