These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE General Discussion

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Specific Examples of Where Risk Should Be Inserted Successfully Into High-sec

First post
Author
Rayzilla Zaraki
Yin Jian Enterprises
#681 - 2012-10-20 18:50:14 UTC
Lin-Young Borovskova wrote:
Rayzilla Zaraki wrote:
I am still a pretty raw noob in Eve and have spent 99% of my short career in hi-sec space so far as I am still learning the game. For a casual player like myself, Eve has a steep learning curve to it.

I have played other games, one of which is strong on PvP and no where is safe from it as it is in Hi Sec Space, so I am no stanger to getting ganked or spawn camped.

I like that Eve is divided up into different security levels so that I can progress as I feel I am ready. As it is, most of the time I have ventured into even 0.4 space, I have been ganked at the Stargate and capsule killed before I had time to even lock a target. I lost several ships and all their equipment that way which is discouraging even though there is insurance and ISK is relatively easy to come by or cheap to buy.

I don't mind getting ganked like that once in a while, but after 10 in a row, I have developed an aversion to going under 0.5 for now as I am still learning the game and figuring out what works and what doesn't. Getting ganked and seeing what is used on me is definitely a help in learning, that's for sure. But, as I said, repeated ganks where you don't even have a chance to respond is defeating and frustrating.

I am sure someone will suggest that going under 0.5 is easier with Corporation mates, but I have always been a solo player in all the games I have played with only casual association with Corporations/Wings/Clans. They always devolve into too much drama.