These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE New Citizens Q&A

• Topic is locked indefinitely.
12Next page

ISK for real money...

Author
Torthur Thellere
Federal Navy Academy
Gallente Federation
#1 - 2011-10-14 07:12:43 UTC  |  Edited by: Torthur Thellere
Hi there,

I've started to play Eve few days ago, and I love it!
It's huge, has no limits and the audio/visual is nice.

So I decided to subscribe.

But then I've started to have doubts. As far, as I know you can buy PLEX for real money and then sell it for ISK. Isn't that spoiling the game economy? I've some bad experiences with other MMO's with that solution. Prices started to get crazy in short time.

Please tell me, that I'm wrong...:)

P.S.
And what the AUR currency is?
Haeri
Club Bear
#2 - 2011-10-14 07:56:04 UTC  |  Edited by: Haeri
The short answer is No, it didn't spoil the EVE economy and it won't. Why? In short, the economy is (almost) completely player-driven. If you put a PLEX on the market and someone buys it from you and then uses it to add game time to their account, all that has happened is that isk has been switched around (with some of it being taken out of the game due to taxes and fees). It's a way for players with spare RL money to get some extra isk so that they don't have to spend as much time making isk, and it's a way for people with spare isk to save some RL money by using their isk to pay for more game time.

AUR is a currency created by destroying a PLEX that is used in the NeX store to buy vanity items for your avatar.

YouTube: HaeriEVE  |  Twitter: @Haeri_EVE  |  Club Bear

malaire
#3 - 2011-10-14 08:08:41 UTC