These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Player Features and Ideas Discussion

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

How should we improve the inventory UI?

First post First post
Author
Vermifuge
Shot-To-Hel
#481 - 2012-09-11 12:36:40 UTC  |  Edited by: Vermifuge
Unified Inventory is a good idea, it just needs a few tweaks. Adding tabs with eliminate all my gripes with the system.

I'm no UI engineer but adding a few icons to the bottom of the Unified Inventory windows could make it far more efficient. Similar icons have been added to tree view. No new assets would need to be created. Leave the tree view, and allow it to remain collapsable. What should added are tabbed icons for all specialized ship bays, drones, cargo and available ships. You should be able to drag and drop between tabs. Cargo, drone, etc tabs are dependent on the active ship.

See image for example...

Tabbed Unified Inventory mock up
Lady Gwendolyn Antollare
Federal Navy Academy
Gallente Federation
#482 - 2012-09-12 02:05:48 UTC
CCP Optimal wrote:
The newly formed team Game of Drones is somewhat surprisingly not going to work on drones (for now at least), but instead we're going to take a stab at improving the inventory management UI in EVE. In an attempt to get it right, we're interesting in collecting feedback before we get our hands too dirty so it would make us happy as hell if you could list the biggest beefs you have with the current inventory UI. I was thinking about a format like this:

ISSUE: Explain your issue
FIX: How do you suggest we fix it?

Example:
ISSUE: The huge pile of windows that you end up with when performing simple inventory management tasks
FIX: Make it possible to manage your inventory through a single window that lists all the accessible inventory locations as well as making it easy to browse and drag items between them