These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Player Features and Ideas Discussion

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Make Game Launcher disappear, please

Author
Smapty
The Scope
Gallente Federation
#1 - 2012-07-10 18:16:35 UTC
I recently started playing Eve, and to be honest the Game Launcher (my first impression of the quality of the game) itself almost made me uninstall and move on. It's seems very beta. Thankfully I stuck around, the game is great, but I do have some suggestions.

In every other major MMO I've played over the last 6 years it works like this:

1. Launcher pops up. Hit PLAY. Launcher instantly disappears, never seen again.
  2. Login Screen appears.
  3. Character Selection screen appears. Can back out to Login Sceen.
  4. In game "Log Off" actually brings you back to Character Selection screen, useful for switching characters.

In Eve, the Launcher pops up. You hit PLAY, but it never disappears, and has about a 5 second delay, making you wonder if you should hit play again. Can actually hit PLAY multiple times, launching the Login Screen several times. Whoa, now I have 3 Eve Login Sceens on my taskbar! Huh?

If you "log out", you actually exit back to the Login Screen. How is this useful, unless perhaps you have 2 accounts? Far more useful would be the ability two quickly switch between your 3 characters.

Also, because the Launcher never goes away, when you ALT TAB in Eve you have two items in your taskbar instead of one. Kind of annoying. Do I really need the Launcher open indefinitely?

Regardless, thanks for a refreshingly sophisticated game, a nice departure from WoW.
mxzf
Shovel Bros
#2 - 2012-07-10 18:17:51 UTC
There's a setting in the launcher which will make it kill itself once it launches the game. Why it isn't on by default, I have no clue.
Simi Kusoni
HelloKittyFanclub
#3 - 2012-07-10 18:20:32 UTC