These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Macintosh

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Did CCP ever consider making EVE truly cross-platform?

Author
Rees Noturana
Red Rock Mining Company
#1 - 2011-09-29 13:36:59 UTC
With all the growing pains to repackage and improve their code when making Carbon did they ever consider making it cross-platform and breaking their ties to Microsoft? Just curious. At first glance it seems it would have been a good time to do it.

_ _

GuidoCom
GoonWaffe
Goonswarm Federation
#2 - 2011-10-08 17:36:11 UTC
interesting thought. as a developer, i see what you mean. (why not go OpenGL with a DirectX wrapper for windows)

but EVE isn't like Quake or Unreal, (with a badass like John Carmack that can write his own engine from scratch and each interface-device driver within the engine itself. basically sweeping aside the operating system and taking over for the shell)

EVE, as i perceive it, is actually a pretty big conglomeration of 3-rd party solutions (common these days, its how game-publishers think they beat the system by removing the need for a millionaire rockstar developer like Carmack) like an IRC client for chat, Voice-over-IP, the browser kit, who knows what else. a lot of these third-party packages don't really support multiple platforms and tie into DirectX to do their thing.

the only way, and i personally think CCP doesn't get enough credit for the fantastic work done on this mac emulation, is to port-it over . especially in order to keep up with the common patches in a timely manner.

i use a 2007 macbook pro, constantly engage in very large fleet battles, and although i have the occasional gate-crash, I'm never not impressed with just how close they come to keeping this mac-build up to speed with the native windows build. badass mofos
Aizen Intaki
Lodizal Shield Tek
#3 - 2011-10-08 23:54:29 UTC