These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Warfare & Tactics

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Maneuvering with blasters at close range

Author
Denuo Secus
#1 - 2012-05-16 23:34:24 UTC  |  Edited by: Denuo Secus
I'm quite new to brawling and close range stuff in PvP. Atm I try blastes on Gallente medium ships, a Thorax in my case.

My question: I have a hard time to keep my optimal blaster range during a close range orbit. I fought against a corp mate, me in a 800mm plate Thorax with web+scram - he in a Harb with one 1600mm plate and web+scram. Since we both used web and scram we're both without MWD at close range. On paper I'm faster and more agile. But still he was able to pull rage to 4+km. Not good for me, now I'm in falloff. I needed to approach him directly to get to 2.5km (void) fast again, so my transersal drops and I took huge damage from his lasers.

I'm not sure how to maneuver when fighting different ship sizes. My thoughts so far:

(1) Thorax against frigs and destroyers: I approach him directly to keep transversal low. Or I fly aligned to something so I can bail as soon as the frig is destroyed. I don't need transversal to minimize incoming damage.

(2) Thorax against equally sized targets (other cruisers): Not sure here. I guess it depends on my opponents weapon system. But since I cannot mitigate incoming damage with high transersal mostly I'd approach him directly.

(3) Thorax against BC and above: I try to orbit him at my blasters optimal. Maybe a bit less. In case of the Harb I set orbit to 1.5km so I end up at 2.8km max when orbiting him.

Is this correct so far? If so, why wasn't I able to stay within 3km even if my orbit against the Harb was set to 1.5km and I was faster? Should I orbit him closer? Or just approach? Or should I fly manually?

Thanks for any hint!

EDIT: clarification.
Tamiya Sarossa
Resistance is Character Forming