These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE New Citizens Q&A

• Topic is locked indefinitely.
123Next pageLast page

Furious about Gate Camping (how to survive)

Author
Lord X3n0s Aeon
Deep Core Mining Inc.
Caldari State
#1 - 2012-05-13 22:33:09 UTC
So, I'm a newbie that manages to play between his EE classes. I just got to lvl 3 security missions and am flying a drake w/ tech I heavy launchers (tech ii in a few days), 2.8 mil skills.

So based on what seemed like expert advice from some well-intentioned pros in another thread I head towards lower sec space. When looking through lvl 3 agents in agent finder I find one in 0.4 space 8 jumps away and decide to go for it. (0.4 being the lowest sec on the journey). What better way to get my feat wet? After all, "the game doesn't even start till nul sec" and "all the real money is made out there".

I get gate-camped and murdered. Yes yes I'm a noob if I had only used the stratospheric quantum nanite deflector I could of defeated the warp blah blah. I get it. I'm trying to learn though. I land and warp immediately after the gate, and some guy in a hurricane scrambles me and blows me out of the sky (to be fair, I almost got him), then kills my pod.

At this point, that was a substantial amount of all the ISK I've made thus far, and it blows me away that a game can be built to allow this level of cheapness. It's one thing if I'm in 0.0 and cruising for PVP, it's another to design systems with the ultimate choke point to end all choke points and then allow players to camp it. I get it, sandbox, virtual world virtual crime, and I'll likely get nothing more than "quit yer bchin" out of this forum. But this is EXACTLY why so many people have no desire to enter low sec and nul sec, because cheap tactics will vaporize your months of work.