These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

Ships & Modules

• Topic is locked indefinitely.

Latin on Impairor rookie ship?

Author
Kolya Medz
Kolya Inc.
#1 - 2012-03-26 03:37:08 UTC
If you zoom in real close, you can see it on the side of the ship.

Right side:

Donec viverra sodales
Donec dapibus, lorem ut

Left side:

Viverra sodales magna
Donec dapibus, lorem ut
Molestie facilisis,

Anyone know latin? Google translate gives me gibberish.
Istvaan Shogaatsu
Guiding Hand Social Club
#2 - 2012-03-26 03:42:58 UTC
It likely is gibberish. It also likely comes from here:

http://lipsum.com/feed/html
Carlo Arnolles
Federal Navy Academy
Gallente Federation
#3 - 2012-03-26 05:41:47 UTC
I'm a Latin teacher. As far as I can tell, that is gibberish. Though it is late, I could be too tired to read bad Latin.
ShahFluffers
Ice Fire Warriors
#4 - 2012-03-26 06:20:00 UTC
Well... the Amarrian Empire is based of off an offshoot of the Catholic Church. After 20,000 years it is possible for the writing to be more or less intact while the grammar and/or spelling is butchered.
Kolya Medz
Kolya Inc.
#5 - 2012-03-26 06:24:25 UTC
Lol space Catholics
Fronkfurter McSheebleton
Horse Feathers
CAStabouts
#6 - 2012-03-26 07:13:52 UTC
ShahFluffers wrote:
Well... the Amarrian Empire is based of off an offshoot of the Catholic Church. After 20,000 years it is possible for the writing to be more or less intact while the grammar and/or spelling is butchered.

Sort of. Lore may say something along those lines, but they're much more ancient-egyptian themed than anything.

thhief ghabmoef

ShahFluffers
Ice Fire Warriors
#7 - 2012-03-26 08:18:31 UTC
Fronkfurter McSheebleton wrote:
ShahFluffers wrote:

Sort of. Lore may say something along those lines, but they're much more ancient-egyptian themed than anything.

To be fair... every EVE race is a mixture of different cultures and themes we see today.