These forums have been archived and are now read-only.

The new forums are live and can be found at https://forums.eveonline.com/

EVE General Discussion

• Topic is locked indefinitely.
12Next page

PvP Question From a New Player

Author
Rusef Book
Aliastra
Gallente Federation
#1 - 2013-02-05 20:21:18 UTC
Hey guys,

So I've been playing EVE for about 2 months now with my brother (We both started at the same time). We've been doing our best to get into pvp and have been met with nothing but death after death. This is fine with us, however, as we take each loss as a learning experience.

Yesterday we finally got our first kill. It was vs a Tristan and, obviously, wasn't even a real fight. But hey, I'll take it.

Anyway after this kill we were feeling good about our abilities to scan and track easy targets when we came across a Caldari Navy Hookbill. I was a bit worried that it was a Navy issue ship and, thus, may be slightly more powerful than our slashers, but i'll take a 2v1 frigate battle any day.

We started the fight from 300km out. Having Slashers with good afterburners we were able to run the Hook down after a few minutes. It was at this time that he turned and headed straight for me. I attempted to turn around and kite him back towards my brother and it was at this time that everyone engaged. In less than 10 seconds my Slasher went, "POP" and my brother only got the Hook down to 1/2 shields before he eventually met his inevitable demise.

My question to you guys is.... How the hell did this happen? how can a tier 1 frig hold such an advantage over other tier 1 frigs? We had him outnumbered and still never even stood a chance. It's been bothering me ever since I logged off last night. Any light you could shed on this would be greatly appreciated.

TL;DR How the hell can a Caldari Navy Hookbill dispatch 2 slashers in less than 30 seconds!?
Ptraci
3 R Corporation
#2 - 2013-02-05 20:43:17 UTC
Rusef Book wrote: